Tennessee’s “Booze It and Lose It” Holiday Campaign Kicks Off on Friday
In an effort to make drivers more aware of the risks they face if they drink and drive, law enforcement officials in Tennessee are kicking off their holiday campaign for the state’s “Booze It and Lose It” program.
A report by wkrn.com states that the event honoring the program and its key personnel will take place at the Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, on Friday.
The director of the Tennessee Governor’s Highway Safety Office will be in attendance as well as members of the Tennessee Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies from cities and counties throughout Middle Tennessee.
Police and state troopers throughout the Volunteer State will increase their patrols and presence on streets, highways, and interstates beginning Friday and continuing through Jan. 3, 2016, as they look for signs of impairment and intoxication in drivers.
In addition to increasing law enforcement presence, the Governor’s Highway Safety Office also hopes the program reminds drivers of the importance of planning a safe way to get home during the holidays—especially if they have consumed alcohol.
What Are the Penalties that Drunk Drivers Face in Tennessee?
Being caught driving with a blood alcohol level above .08 percent for people over the age of 21 means drivers can be arrested on charges of driving under the influence—a serious charge that can result in serious consequences.
Drinking and driving is extremely dangerous, not just for the affected driver and his or her passengers, but everyone who shares the roads in Tennessee as well. The harsh penalties that drunk drivers face are part of an effort by law enforcement to reduce the risks that law-abiding drivers face every time they get behind the wheel.
People who are convicted of DUI can face significant penalties and fines, including:
- Loss of license
Driving in Tennessee is a privilege—not a right—and that’s illustrated by the fact that people who are convicted of DUI automatically lose their licenses for one year. Second and third offenses last for two years and between three and 10 years, respectively, while fourth offenses may last indefinitely.
Being convicted of DUI doesn’t just cause you to lose your driving privileges—it can also be extremely expensive. First-time offenders receive fines between $350 and $1,500, second-time offenders $600 to $3,500, and third-time offenders $1,100 to $10,000. People who are convicted of DUI for a fourth time may pay up to $15,000 in fines alone.
- Jail time
Perhaps the most sobering penalty faced by convicted drunk drivers is mandatory jail time. First-time offenders can be sentenced to jail time ranging from 48 hours to 11 months, second-time offenders 45 days to one year, third-time offenders 120 days to one year, and fourth-time offenders 150 days to six years.
- “Lookback period”
In addition to receiving penalties as a direct result of a DUI conviction, people who are charged with this crime also face additional scrutiny for up to 10 years after the offense with a DUI on their criminal records.
At Matt Hardin Law, our Nashville auto accident attorneys have no sympathy for people who choose to get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol. The penalties for being convicted of DUI are harsh, but for good reason, as drivers who are intoxicated or impaired significantly increase their risk of causing accidents that can seriously injure themselves, their passengers, and other motorists on the road.
If you or someone you love was injured in an auto accident caused by an intoxicated or impaired driver, you may be eligible to receive compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, vehicle repair costs, and more. To find out how law firm may be able to help you and your family during this difficult time, pick up the phone and dial (615) 200-1111 or complete a free online consultation form.