2 Fatalities Reported after Accident on I-40 in Dickson County

2 Fatalities Reported after Accident on I-40 in Dickson County

A Dodge pickup truck left its lane and struck a stationary tractor-trailer on the shoulder of the road on Interstate 40 East Sunday morning, causing the vehicle to run off the interstate and strike several trees.

According to a report by WKRN.com, the impact of the collision killed two passengers in the truck—a 20-year-old and a 23-year-old. The driver and another passenger inside the truck also suffered serious injuries, while the driver of the tractor-trailer was uninjured.

A sergeant with the Tennessee Highway Patrol says that the passengers who died weren’t wearing their seat belts at the time of the crash. In addition, he says that the tractor-trailer was stopped on the side of the road because the driver was waiting for parts to repair it.

The THP says that it’s vital for drivers to always move over when they see vehicles stopped on the shoulder of the road. THP’s spokesperson also says that if drivers aren’t able to move over, they should slow down to a safe speed when they’re approaching stopped or disabled vehicles on the side of the road.

7 Important Facts about the Move Over Law

Although the Move Over Law in Tennessee only applies to stopped emergency vehicles and utility vehicles, it’s important to move over and away from stopped vehicles if possible regardless of whether they’re ambulances, police cars, fire trucks, or ordinary passenger vehicles. Driving near a stopped vehicle can be dangerous for both you and anyone near or inside the vehicle.

Some important facts about Tennessee’s Move Over Law include the following:

  1. The law was passed in 2006 and originally included only emergency vehicles. In 2011, the law was expanded to include utility service vehicles and equipment due to the high level of risk and danger those workers are exposed to while on the job.
  1. Tennessee was the 30th state to enact a Move Over Law. Today, Move Over Laws have been enacted and are regularly enforced in almost every state in the country.
  1. Drivers who violate the Move Over Law can receive fines of up to $500 and sentences of up to 30 days in jail.
  1. Between 2005 and 2014, there were 262 Move Over Law citations issued in Davidson County. The highest number of citations were issued in Knox County, where 1,111 tickets were issued during that time.
  1. 213 police officers were struck and killed by vehicles between 1999 and 2014, with the highest number of deaths—a total of 24—occurring in 2001.
  1. 71 percent of Americans still haven’t heard of Move Over Laws, which means that many drivers pass stopped emergency vehicles without changing lanes—putting themselves and emergency responders in danger.
  1. 90 percent of drivers believe that traffic stops and roadside emergencies are dangerous situations for law enforcement officers and first responders.

Vehicles that are stopped just a few feet away from fast-moving traffic are extremely vulnerable to being struck at high speeds. However, the safest place to be during a roadside emergency is inside your vehicle. Because the Move Over Law only applies to emergency vehicles and utility vehicles, drivers may not change lanes when approaching disabled passenger vehicles. If you experience a roadside emergency, never get out of your vehicle and attempt to make repairs on the side of the road. Instead, stay inside your vehicle and contact a tow truck to haul your vehicle to a safe place.

If you or someone you love was injured in roadside collision or accident, you may be eligible to file a claim for compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and other accident-related expenses. To find out how our Nashville auto accident attorneys can fight for your rights during this time, contact Matt Hardin Law by dialing (615) 200-1111 or completing a free online consultation form.

Contact Information