Woman Driving Under the Influence Crashes into Two Cars in Ft. Campbell
A woman from Ft. Campbell was arrested in Clarksville, Tennessee, Wednesday evening after causing an accident that sent two people to the hospital.
According a report by The Leaf-Chronicle, the woman was drunk and crashed into the first of two cars near the intersection of Tiny Town Rd. and Peachers Mill Rd. She then left the scene of the accident in her red Dodge pickup truck. The driver of the first car she struck was transported to Gateway Medical Center for treatment.
A police officer noticed the woman’s truck near the scene of the accident and saw significant damage to the vehicle, including broken headlights, body damage, and white smoke pouring out from underneath the hood.
The woman then sideswiped another car near the same intersection, causing a passenger of the vehicle to suffer serious injuries that required treatment first at the Gateway Medical Center ER and later Vanderbilt Medical Center.
When the responding officer arrived on the scene, he ordered the woman out of her truck and arrested her for DUI. She is also being charged with vehicular assault and leaving the scene of an accident.
The Clarksville car accident lawyers at Matt Hardin Law know how dangerous drunk drivers can be on the road, and that’s why it’s so important to always call a cab or have a designated driver if you’ve been drinking and need to go home.
What are the Consequences of a DUI?
DUIs are serious offenses that can cost drivers their licenses, their jobs, and even their freedom. Some of the consequences of DUIs in the state of Tennessee include:
- A large fine and additional expenses
DUIs are expensive. A first-time offender can be charged with a fine of up to $1,500. However, other costs make the total price tag much higher, as things like towing, bail, attorney’s fees, increased insurance premiums, and court costs can easily drive the cost up to $10,000.
- Jail time
First-time DUI offenders can serve up to 48 hours in jail, while second and third-time offenders may get locked up for one month all the way up to one year. People who receive jail time not only miss work and lose their wages for a short time, they also may lose their jobs.
- Loss of drivers license
In Tennessee, the law requires that first-time offenders give up their licenses and driving privileges for one year calendar year. In some exceptions, drivers can receive permission to drive to and from work only during this time period.
- Court-ordered participation in alcohol treatment program
DUI offenders are mandated to attend drug and alcohol treatment programs and classes. They also may be required to attend driving schools—which they must pay for themselves.
- Ignition interlock
Some DUI offenders may be required to have ignition interlocks installed in their vehicles. These devices are designed to analyze the breath of drivers to detect any traces of alcohol. If the device gets a positive reading of a blood alcohol level, the vehicle won’t be able to start. In most cases, DUI offenders are required to pay for these devices themselves, and they can cost more than $1,000.
At Matt Hardin Law, our Clarksville car accident attorneys have no sympathy for drunk drivers who endanger the lives of others and cause serious injuries to innocent victims. That’s why we dedicate ourselves to helping injured victims get compensation for their accident-related expenses.
We have years of experience dealing with Tennessee accident law, and we know how to build a claim to maximize your compensation in the form of civil settlements and punitive damages. Get in touch with us today—dial (615) 200-1111 or fill out a free online form, and let us start working for you.