4 Things to Know About Car Insurance Coverage After a Crash
Posted in Car Accident on August 17, 2019
Auto accidents often result in serious injuries and major expenses. Like almost all states, Tennessee requires drivers to carry valid auto insurance to be legally allowed to drive their vehicles on public streets, state highways, and federal interstates.
However, the type and amount of insurance that drivers must carry varies from state to state. In Tennessee, drivers must carry the following coverage:
- Insurance that covers $25,000 in bodily injuries per injured victim
- Insurance that covers $50,000 in bodily injuries per accident
- Insurance that covers $15,000 in property damage per accident
While those numbers may initially seem substantial, it’s common for injured victims to face combined accident-related expenses that far exceed the other drivers’ minimum coverage. When that happens, many injured victims are forced to pay for the rest of their expenses out of their own pockets.
At Matt Hardin Law, our Nashville auto accident lawyers know that having insurance isn’t just a legal requirement in Tennessee—it’s also vital for drivers to protect themselves and others. However, getting compensation after a crash, even if it wasn’t your fault, is rarely a straightforward process. That’s why we’re here. If you were injured in an auto accident and you need money, we want to speak with you. Call us today at (615) 200-1111 or fill out a free consultation form.
Learn These Insurance Facts and Don’t Get Blindsided After Your Accident
Getting compensation after a crash seems like it should be relatively simple, especially when there’s plenty of proof that you weren’t at fault. Unfortunately, insurance companies rarely have victims’ best interests in mind, and they also have strict requirements for victims to remain eligible to receive much-needed money. If those requirements aren’t met, their claims may be reduced or even denied.
Keep these facts in mind after your crash to stay one step ahead of the insurance company and to get the most out of your policy and the other driver’s policy:
- You are required to report the auto accident to your own insurance company—Almost all auto insurance companies require that their policyholders notify them of crashes soon after they occur—often within a matter of days. That’s true whether the policyholders were at fault for their crashes or didn’t contribute to their accidents whatsoever. Just as you should seek medical attention and call a lawyer after your crash, you should also notify your insurance provider about what happened as soon as possible. Stick to the facts of what happened to avoid potentially jeopardizing your claim.
- You may be eligible to get compensation from your own insurance policy—Whether you’ve purchased the minimum auto insurance policy to legally drive in Tennessee, or you pay for comprehensive coverage on your vehicle, you may still be out of luck if the driver who caused your crash doesn’t have their own insurance coverage, and he may even leave the scene before being identified. However, having a valid uninsured/underinsured motorist policy at the time of the crash means you can get money from your own policy if it’s unlikely you’ll get money from the at-fault driver.
- You should never accept a settlement offer without speaking to a lawyer—Insurance companies make record profits year after year. Those profits are often generated at the expense of innocent victims, including those who are in desperate need of significant compensation for their medical bills and lost wages. Insurance companies know that victims often need money right away, and they take advantage of that by offering them “lowball” settlements in the days or weeks after their crashes. And while the amounts they offer may seem substantial at the time, they’re rarely enough to cover all accident-related expenses.
- You can take your claim to court if the insurance company refuses to pay—When confronted with evidence that their policyholders are at fault for injury-causing accidents, most insurance companies will agree to pay victims compensation. However, it’s not uncommon for insurance providers to continue refuse to pay settlements. If that happens when you decide to pursue compensation, you can still get damages by taking your claim to court. Insurance companies who refuse to cooperate during negotiations may be forced to pay by judges after court dates, especially when there’s plenty of evidence supporting victims’ statements.
At Matt Hardin Law, we know how insurance companies work. With three decades of experience helping injured victims after accidents, we’re familiar with each step they take, from the moment they find out about crashes to the moment they decide to reduce or deny settlements.
Don’t leave the outcome of your claim up to chance, and don’t let the insurance company have an advantage over you. Getting our experienced legal team on your side can help level the playing field. Call our Nashville car accident attorneys today—we’re ready to put our experience to work for you.