Accident on Interstate 24 Seriously Injures 1

Posted in Car Accident,Drunk Driving,Negligence,Personal Injury,Tennessee Accident Law on September 23, 2015

Accident on Interstate 24 Seriously Injures 1

A collision in the eastbound lanes of Interstate 24 in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, caused one man to suffer serious injuries that required him to be airlifted to a local hospital for treatment.

WKRN.com reports that the accident occurred around 1 a.m. near the New Salem Highway Exit in Rutherford County. A 24-year-old man was driving a 2010 Chevrolet and attempting to merge into an adjacent lane when he crashed into a 1994 GMC.

The impact of the collision caused the GMC to exit the roadway and collide with a tree line nearby.

The driver of the GMC suffered severe injuries as a result of the accident and was airlifted to Vanderbilt University Medical Center. His current condition is unknown.

Murfreesboro police arrested the driver of the 2010 Chevrolet and charged him with driving under the influence, failure to exercise due care, and lack of proof of insurance. He was booked into the Rutherford County jail.

What are the Consequences of a DUI Conviction?

Driving under the influence puts you at a significantly increased risk of being involved in an accident that harms you, your passengers, or other drivers. However, you don’t even to have to cause an accident to suffer serious, life-changing consequences, as the legal penalties can be expensive and severely limit your ability to drive.

Some of the most common consequences of DUI convictions include:

  • Expensive fines or tickets

A first-time DUI offender in Tennessee can face a fine of anywhere from $350 to $1,500. Second offenders can pay anywhere from $600 to $3,500, while third and fourth-time offenders can pay $1,000 to $15,000.

  • License suspension

Driving is a privilege—not a right—and having a valid driver’s license is required to enjoy that privilege. People who are convicted of DUI in Tennessee automatically lose their licenses for one year. Second-time offenders can lose their licenses for two years, while third and fourth-time offenders can lose theirs for three years to 10 years.

  • Mandatory jail time

Getting convicted of DUI in Tennessee involves mandatory jail time. First-time offenders can expect a jail stay of anywhere from 48 hours to 11 months, while second and third-time offenders may see their sentences increased to 45 days, 120 days, or even one year.

  • Increased car insurance premiums

Tennessee law requires that all drivers carry valid car insurance, and DUI convictions can significantly raise the rates at which insurers are willing to provide coverage to drivers.

  • Loss of professional licenses

Doctors, nurses, pilots, and other professionals whose careers depend on their licenses can face serious consequences if they are convicted of DUI, including having their licenses suspended or even revoked.

  • Vehicle ignition interlock device, alcohol rehabilitation program, and vehicle forfeiture

Depending on the judge or the severity of the offense, people who are convicted of DUI may face optional punishments, including mandatory ignition interlock devices on their vehicles that test their blood alcohol levels, mandatory alcohol rehabilitation program attendance and adherence, and even forfeiting their vehicles to police after impounding.

People who drive under the influence of alcohol are significantly more likely than sober drivers to injure themselves and others on roadways throughout Tennessee, and that’s why the penalties for being convicted of DUI, even for first-time offenders, are so strict. The Tennessee Highway Patrol and local police departments have stepped up enforcement in recent years in an effort to save lives and get as many intoxicated drivers off the roads as possible.

If you or someone you love was injured in an accident caused by a drunk, intoxicated, or impaired driver, you shouldn’t have to pay for your own medical care, vehicle repair costs, and lost wages. The Murfreesboro car accident attorneys at Matt Hardin Law have no sympathy for drunk drivers, and we will do everything in our power to hold them responsible for your full accident-related expenses. To find out how we can help your family, get in touch with us today by dialing (615) 600-4941 or filling out a free online form.