Memphis Hit-and-Run Driver Flees on Foot after Critically Injuring 1

Posted in Car Accident,Negligence,Personal Injury,Tennessee Accident Law on April 29, 2015

Memphis Hit-and-Run Driver Flees on Foot after Critically Injuring 1

A serious two-car accident in Memphis Tuesday night led to one driver suffering critical injuries and the other driver fleeing the accident scene on foot before police could arrive to investigate.

According to a report by myfoxmemphis.com, the accident occurred around 8:40 p.m. at the intersection of Madison and Manassas. There is currently no word on what caused the accident.

The injured driver was transported by emergency services workers to Regional One Health to receive treatment and is considered critically injured.

Memphis police are still looking for the driver who fled the scene of the accident and urge anyone who has information about the accident to contact their CrimeStoppers team.

The Memphis car accident attorneys at Matt Hardin Law hope the driver who was critically injured in this accident is able to recover from his or her injuries and that police are able to locate the driver who fled the scene.

What Consequences Do Hit-and-Run Drivers Face after Accidents?

Leaving the scene of an accident is a very serious crime that can lead to big fines and even imprisonment—especially if the accident involved injuries. After hit-and-run accidents, police typically issue an arrest warrant for the driver who was suspected of leaving the scene. When hit-and-run drivers are found, they face several serious consequences for their actions, including:

  • Criminal charges

Leaving the scene of an accident that didn’t result in injuries is typically considered a misdemeanor, but the penalties can still be severe, with fines ranging from $50 to $2,500, license suspension, and jail sentences ranging from 30 days to one year. Fleeing the scene of an accident where someone suffered serious injuries or died has even more severe consequences for the driver, as they will receive felony charges that could result long prison sentences.

  • License penalties

In addition to criminal charges, hit-and-run drivers also face serious consequences from the state of Tennessee on their driver’s license. Hit-and-run convictions, whether they’re misdemeanors or felonies, typically result in automatic suspensions generally lasting around one year. Drivers with hit-and-run convictions on their records also face increased insurance rates and may be disqualified from any jobs that require driving a car or truck. Hit-and-run drivers whose careers lie in the transportation industry may lose their livelihoods.

  • Civil lawsuits

As with other types of car accidents, hit-and-run drivers who cause injuries to innocent victims can be considered liable for their damages, including their medical bills and lost wages. Victims often sue hit-and-run drivers to recover compensation for accident-related expenses as well as noneconomic damages like pain and suffering, mental anguish, and disfigurement.

In order for a hit-and-run driver to face these consequences, he or she must be located first. That can be a challenge in the days and weeks after the accident occurred. While police conduct effective investigations to find hit-and-run suspects, our Memphis car accident lawyers also go to work in an attempt to find the driver by interviewing witnesses and reviewing evidence.

Once the driver is found, it’s our goal to hold him or her fully responsible for your accident-related expenses. You shouldn’t have to pay for an accident that wasn’t your fault.

IF you were involved in a hit-and-run car accident and need compensation, get in touch with our legal team today. Just dial (901) 201-4478 or fill out a free online form. We’re ready to help you move forward with your life.