Two Accidents Lead to Three Deaths in Smith County over the Weekend

Posted in Car Accident,Personal Injury,Tennessee Accident Law on February 10, 2015

Two Accidents Lead to Three Deaths in Smith County over the Weekend

Three lives were lost as a result of two serious accidents that occurred in Smith County, Tennessee, over the weekend.

According to a report by the Herald-Citizen, the first accident occurred when a man from Deer Lodge, Tennessee, and a woman from Sunbright, Tennessee, were killed in a wreck on Interstate 40 on Friday.

The news report states that in this incident, a 1999 Ford Escort driving by the man from Deer Lodge was traveling eastbound in the right lane of I-40 when it suddenly approached a large tractor-trailer that was stopped on the right shoulder.

The Escort then crossed the fog line and struck the rear side of the truck, which then sent the Escort careening into the left lane of oncoming traffic where it was hit head-on by a 2009 Dodge Caravan driven by a woman from Cookeville, Tennessee.

The second accident occurred when a 2005 GMC Envoy and a 2002 Saturn were involved in a side-to-side collision on Hartsville Pike on Saturday.

Police state the 55-year-old woman driving the Saturn wasn’t wearing her seat belt at the time of the accident and died at the scene, while her juvenile passenger suffered injuries.

At Matt Hardin Law, our Lebanon car accident lawyers extend our condolences to the families of the victims and we also hope that others who were injured in these accidents recover quickly.

Important Tennessee Car Accident Laws to Remember

If you were recently involved in a car accident, it’s important to know your rights and to also know Tennessee car accident laws. Here are three of the most important laws to understand during the minutes, hours, and days that follow your car accident:

  • You’re allowed to move your car without penalty after an accident.

Many drivers believe that it’s against the law to move their vehicles after car accidents. In fact, Tennessee law protects drivers who move their vehicles to safe places away from oncoming traffic. Unless someone is seriously injured in an accident, it’s always better for victims to err on the side of caution and move vehicles far from the road to prevent a second collision from occurring.

  • You have one year to file an auto accident claim.

In Tennessee, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is one year after the date the accident or incident occurred. However, because evidence like traffic camera footage and crash scene debris can quickly be deleted or disappear, it’s important that victims contact an attorney right away. Although the claim is valid for up to 12 months after the accident, the likelihood of getting full compensation can decrease rapidly as time passes.

  • You don’t have to accept the insurance company’s settlement offer.

Many insurance companies are quick to offer auto accident victims settlements for their accident-related expenses. But what many victims may not be aware of is that accepting a settlement of any kind may nullify their ability to pursue full compensation at a later date. And because most initial settlement offers aren’t nearly enough to cover all of their expenses, victims may be unable to pay for all of their medical bills and cover their lost wages.

The Lebanon car accident attorneys at Matt Hardin Law know that many car accident victims find the legal process confusing and intimidating. While we strive to make it as easy as possible for our clients, we also do everything we can to take the legal burden off their shoulders.

If you were recently injured in a car accident that wasn’t your fault, you shouldn’t have to worry about settlement paperwork and gathering evidence. Leave that up to our experience legal team while you focus on getting better. Contact us today by dialing (615) 200-1111 or fill out a free online form. We’re here to help you move forward with your life.